In a recent interview with Vanity, the Magic Mike actor took a lie detector test and said that he hated being in the G.I. Joe movies and had turned down the role seven times, but to no avail. Tatum had previously expressed his hatred of 2009’s G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra on the Howard Stern Show, saying: Tatum went on to star in the 2013 sequel G.I. Joe: Retaliation, but he requested the studio kill him off within the first ten minutes of the film, a decision he says he doesn’t regret. The G.I. Joe film franchise has continuously drawn criticism from both audiences and critics, despite having made over $650 million in total sales. Snake Eyes, a 2021 attempt to revive the film series, was a box office disaster that struck the final nail in the coffin after it made over $40 million worldwide against a $110 million budget. It’s safe to say that Tatum dodged the bullet by dropping out of the G.I. Joe franchise. Unfortunately, Tatum also never got to work on his dream project after Disney acquired FOX and basically put the Gambit solo film on the backburner. If it’s any consolation, audiences can look forward to watching Tatum reprise his best role yet when Magic Mike’s Last Dance premieres on February 10.

Channing Tatum turned down the G I  Joe role seven times - 64Channing Tatum turned down the G I  Joe role seven times - 82Channing Tatum turned down the G I  Joe role seven times - 25